Apmere Mparntwe | Australian Ceramics Triennale 2022

Apmere Mparntwe | Australian Ceramics Triennale 2022

by Vicki Grima
Events and Exhibitions TACA Board News Opportunities News


by Kate Jones, President

TACA Board met on 21 October on Zoom.

There has been a lot happening at TACA over the past few months. 

The 16th Australian Ceramics Triennale was held in July in Mparntwe/Alice Springs. Tjunkaya Tapaya OAM and Hannah Kothe (also awarded a place in our Australian Ceramics Writers Research Project 2022) have written AN EXCELLENT ARTICLE about the work presented in exhibitions over the conference and discussions held there. I am so pleased that we have reached the point where a ceramics conference can be a forum for these vital conversations but at the same time, the weight carried by First Nations exhibitors and presenters in these exchanges during the Triennale was palpable. There’s a lot to think about in terms of how we can do more of the lifting going forward.

At our AGM we welcomed 4 new TACA Life Members – Les Blakebrough, Judith Inkamala, Greg Daly and Kevin Boyd. I would like to extend my congratulations to them all. Kylie Johnson and Brett Stone were our guest speakers this year and also participated in Session 3 of Series 2 Tools for Practice. We’re really excited about this series of online meetings as attendance has been growing and growing. It’s such a good way to share the experience of a wide range of practitioners on a range of topics that are relevant to us all.

Other big news that has kept TACA board occupied recently is the imminent departure of our longstanding EO Vicki Grima. It signals a whole new chapter for TACA, which is exciting, but the task of filling her shoes is daunting. The Board has spent much time discussing what the role may look like in the future and we look forward to speaking with applicants. Maybe that could be you! Details of the position are HERE

The new JAC Editorial Advisory Group met to discuss focus areas for next year’s issues of the JAC, and Janetta Kerr-Grant and I attended as representatives of the Board. The session was lively and generative. Vicki has just sent her last edition of The JAC to press and co-editors Bridie Moran and Montessa Maack will take over from here on. Speaking of departures, we also said farewell to Janetta who has stepped down from the board after serving for three years. We will miss her thoughtful and focused contributions.

We recently put out a Call for Proposals for TABLED, TACA’s next members' exhibition which will be held at Manly Art Gallery & Museum. We’re showcasing functional ceramics this time around and I’m interested to see how broadly the theme will be interpreted. Details of the exhibition and the application process can be found HERE.

One last thing ... Australian Ceramics Open Studios is coming up really soon. This year we have more members signed up than ever before and I am going to be getting out to see as many studios as possible. Whether you’re participating or just visiting like me, I hope you have a great day.

Our next board meeting will be held on the Zoom platform on Friday 16 December, 2–5pm.

We welcome all of our new TACA members who joined between 23 June and 1 November 2022:
Filiz Peksen, Carolyn Saunders, Kimberley Oberlin, Gemma Troy, Gail Collins, Shorncliffe Pottery Club Inc, Danny Cox, Robyn Booth, Gretta Brown, Iris Rees, Melinda Arnold,  (12 at end of June), Jane Ellen, Julie Russell, Charmaine Haegens, Gilbert Buchanan, Claudia De Salvo, Aimee Pelley, Amanda Fernie, Peter Annand, Holly O’Meehan, Amelia Lynch, Megan Brandis, Shirley Rootes Martin, George Khut, Katie Watts, Beaumaris Art Group, Elissa Lees, Kaori Fujimoto, Amanda Walker, Ellen Bagge, Charmaine Ball, Joshua Flanagan, Deborah Klein, Sean Miller, Nicola Harrex, Soraya Nematollahi, Valerie Colvin, Stephen Scrogings, Christine McHugh, Jacqueline Louw, Gail McCahon, Liz Berry, Cassandra Hurley, Joe Say, Kristie Tiernan, Ilona Bruckard, Amanda Wise, Pingkan Machmud, Maria Shaw, Emma Donegan, Paul Mikkelsen, Georgia Howard, Thannie Phan, Sierra McManus, Macarthur Ceramics Group, Susie McIntosh, Deianne Hibberd, Meaghan Strong, Dan Heslop, Trudy Ebsworth-Espie, Joanne Davies, Maxine Armitage, Shaun Nicholson, Anne Sherman, Nadina Lawson, Kelly Greenhalgh, Andrew Parker, Kerrie Farthing, Harlinah Teoh, Lucy Blinkhorne, Aurelie Remetter, Victoria Verzaci, Caroline North, Marie Littlewood, Danielle Thiris, Mina Kim, Tara Rad, Angela Ratten, Jodi Thomas, Eugenie Wong, Melanie Johnson, Chris Summer, Esther McVicar, Lisa Johnston, Lisa Buxton, Sophia Dunning, Rory Johnson, Andrea Simpson, Christine Watson, Karen Rice, Lorraine Dean, Kyati Suharto-Martin, Vanessa Walsh, Jean Paull, Sharyn Lowe, Ann Gillespie, Dorine Louwerens, Jasmin Austin, Georgia De Wet, Siena Hyland, Wayne Smithers, Marlyn Radley, Emily Wynn Edwards, Christine Postal, Meital Lawrence, Maria Hunter, Cassandra Sorrell, Kate McKay, Geoffrey Hawkins, Danish Quapoor, Suzanne Thompson, Kirsten Ives, Natalie Brockett and Tamara Fawahl.

TACA Board 2022/2023
Cathy Franzi, ACT; cathyfranzi.com
Jackie Gasson, QLD; instagram.com/gassonjackie
Mike Hall, NSW; instagram.com/mikefhall
Kate Jones, VIC, PRESIDENT; katejjones.com.au
Diamando Koutsellis, NSW; diamando.com.au
Debbie Pryor, SA; debbiepryor.org

Secretary: Vicki Grima
Executive Officer: Vicki Grima

TACA’s next Annual General Meeting will be held in September/October 2023.

Like to contact TACA BOARD?
Send an email to [email protected]; Subject: EMAIL TO TACA BOARD

The Australian Ceramics Association
PO Box 677 Alexandria NSW 1435
SQ1, 32 Bowden St, Alexandria NSW 2015
T: 1300 720 124; 0419 250 282
E: [email protected]

The Australian Ceramics Association
SQ1 Studios, 32 Bowden St, Alexandria NSW 2015
PO Box 677 Alexandria NSW 1435
T: +61 (0)2 9698 0230 (outside Australia)
Contact 1300 720 124
[email protected]

The Australian Ceramics Association acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and First Nations peoples connections to land, sea and community.

We recognise that sovereignty was never ceded and that we are on stolen land. We pay our respects to Elders, past, present and emerging, and to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders who engage with the Association, our events and programs.